ADMISSION REQUIREMENTS (All courses are instructed in the English language.)

A candidate for admission to Searcy Beauty College for a full time student must provide:

  1. Proof of age (driver’s license, or State ID)
  2. Applicable State Board Fee (See Tuition-State Board Fee)
  3. Proof of Education (High School Diploma or GED)
  4. Student Instructor applicant must hold a current Arkansas Cosmetology license.
  5. Transfer students are accepted and granted full credit for hours completed at another school. However, transfer students must complete a request for hours form with the school to have certification of hours sent directly from the State of Arkansas Department Health Cosmetology Section.

The school does not recruit students attending an institution of similar study.

For high school students admitted under Arkansas State University Beebe we require:

  1. Proof of age (driver’s license or birth certificate)
  2. Social Security Card
  3. High School Transcript

Former students of the institution who wish to re-enter, must request approval from the school administration. The settlement calculation for the former enrollment will be adjusted to reflect charges for actual hours attended. Student will be responsible for any balance owed for the former enrollment. Tuition rates current at the time of re-entry will apply. Contract periods and attendance percentages will be calculated based on hours remaining in the re-entry contract. All students who withdraw prior to completion of the course and wish to re-enroll will return in the same satisfactory academic progress status as at the time of withdrawal.

GRADUATION REQUIREMENTS - (applies to all courses)

Certificates of completion are given upon completing the following requirements:

  • Completion of required hours per course of study
  • Completion of minimum practical requirements
  • Completion of all written and practical exams with grades of 70 percent or higher

The Department of Health will admit to examination for a license as a Cosmetologist or Manicurist a person who has made application to the department in proper form, has paid the fee required and who:

  1. Is not less than 16 years of age
  2. Has completed two years of high school in public schools of this State or its equivalent; and
  3. Has completed one of the following:
    1. For a cosmetologist, training of at least 1500 hours
    2. For a manicurist, training of at least 600 hours
    3. The prescribed course of study in cosmetology under the laws of another state whose licensing requirements are equal to or stricter than those in Arkansas.
  4. Has passed an examination given by the Department of Health.

The Department of Health will admit to examination for a license as an Instructor a person who has made application to the department in proper form, has paid the fee required and who:

  1. Is a currently licensed cosmetologist in the State of Arkansas.
  2. Is 21 years of age or older and has had 600 hours of teacher training in a school of cosmetology over a period of not less than 4 months; and
  3. Has passed an instructors examination given by the Department of Health.

Persons who pass any examination shall receive a license from the Cosmetology Technical Advisory Committee.

Disclosure: As per the Arkansas State Board of Health, Cosmetology Law Book, violations of code 17-26-104 (Unlawful Practices) and 17-26-105 (Grounds for disciplinary action) may prevent an individual from obtaining or maintaining licensure and therefore employment as a licensed professional in this State.

1004 S. Main Street / Searcy, AR 72143 / (501) 268-6300
Mailing Address: P.O.Box 8119 / Searcy, AR 72145